The World of David Walliams from Pobjoy Mint concludes with ‘Grandpa’s Great Escape’, the seventh and final issue

Along with Matt Lucas, David Walliams is best known for being one half of the outrageously funny TV comedy, Little Britain. Never afraid to shock, it’s rarely seen these days, now we live in times when half the population is offended on behalf of the rest, like it or not, He has, however, many more strings to his bow, including a mass of charity work and events (swimming the English Channel, the Thames River length, and the Straits of Gibraltar, for example), and huge renown as an author of children’s books.

His first book was called ‘The Boy in the Dress’ and dealt with themes of difference, setting a tone for his ‘The World of David Walliams’. Each novel has a moral that challenges children to think more openly. There have been 17 novels since the debut in 2008, along with almost as many picture books. Many made the jump to other media, like television and theatre, and the books have surpassed the 50 million sold landmark. It’s hardly surprising that they’ve appeared on Pobjoy Mint’s radar.

The series of seven, heptagonal, fifty-pence coins showcase the earlier books, although strangely, Demon Dentist is missing, If these coins are popular, there’s plenty of material for a second series. Each one carries the cover art from the book, and it’s certainly an eclectic selection, but you can’t help but like it. There are 8.0 gram sterling silver versions, and base-metal coins for the young collector, appropriately enough. Almost all available now direct from Pobjoy Mint.

The first coin in the series of The World of David Walliams features Walliams’ first novel The Boy in the Dress, a story about a boy who isn’t afraid to be different. 

The second coin in the series of The World of David Walliams features Walliams’ second novel, Mr Stink, a wonderfully written tale of a young girl called Chloe who befriends a witty tramp called Mr Stink.

The third coin in the series of The World of David Walliams features Billionaire Boy, a story about Joe Spud, who is the richest boy in the country and has everything he could ever want, other than a friend.

The fourth coin in the series of The World of David Walliams. A story of Ben, who is bored beyond belief after he is made to stay at his grandma’s house, but soon finds out his grandma was once an international jewel thief and is plotting to steal the Crown Jewels, but she needs Ben’s help.

The fifth coin in the series of The World of David Walliams, is the story about a little girl called Zoe. Things are not looking good for Zoe. Her stepmother Sheila is so lazy she gets Zoe to pick her nose for her. The school bully Tina Trotts makes her life a misery – mainly by flobbing on her head. And now the evil Burt from Burt’s Burgers is after her pet rat! And guess what he wants to do with it? The clue is in the title!

The sixth coin in the series of The World of David Walliams – a story about Stella Saxby, the sole heir to Saxby Hall, who is plagued by her awful Aunt Alberta and her giant owl, but Stella has a secret, and slightly spooky, weapon up her sleeve.

The final coin in the series of The World of David Walliams features Walliams’ novel Grandpa’s Great Escape – a story about a boy called Jack who is trying to rescue his confused Grandpa, who still believes that World War II hasn’t ended, from a retirement home called Twilight Towers run by an evil matron, Miss Swine.

The Pobjoy Mint Effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II features on the obverse of the coin.

The silver coins will come packaged in a snapper box, with a Certificate of Authenticity. Each issue is presented in a themed outer shipper carrying the cover art for the book.

DENOMINATION £0.5 UKP (Gibraltar)
COMPOSITION 0.925 silver
WEIGHT 8.0 grams
MINTAGE 1,999 per design
BOX / C.O.A. Yes / Yes